18.8 C
New York
Sunday, March 3, 2024

KVIFF 2023: Wrap-Up and Awards | Festivals & Awards

KVIFF was additionally crammed with great retrospectives. “Master and Commander: The Far Side of the World,” Peter Weir’s feast of masculine tenderness wrapped in a nautical epic, screened in 35mm. John Cassavetes’ romantic screwball “Minnie and Moskowitz” was additionally proven. However the main spotlight was curator Joseph Fahim’s richly programmed collection on mid-century Japanese auteur Yasuzo Masumura (1924 – 1986). Of the eleven movies from Masamura movies that performed, I used to be fortunate to see 4: “Crimson Angel,” “The Blue Sky Maiden,” “Hoodlum Soldier,” and “A Spouse’s Confession.” Even the small style I acquired of the collection clued me into how adaptable and exact of a filmmaker Masamura could possibly be, significantly whereas critiquing the Japanese military’s actions throughout World Battle II, the idea of the nuclear household, and the nation’s antiquated gender roles.     

In the course of the closing evening ceremony—whereby a screening of Bobby Farrelly’s “Champions” occurred—a number of deserving photos have been honored: Bulgarian filmmaker Stephan Komandarev’s “Blaga’s Classes” received the Grand Prix award in the primary Crystal Globe Competitors; Behrooz Karamizade’s “Empty Nets” took house the Particular Jury Prize; director Babak Jalali claimed Finest Director for his black and white shot indie “Fremont;” and Herbert Nordrum acquired Finest Actor for “The Hypnosis.” Eli Skorcheva took Finest Actress for her efficiency in “Blaga’s Classes,” Cyril Aris’ documentary “Dancing on the Fringe of a Volcano” landed a particular Jury point out,” and Vincent Perez’ “The Fringe of the Blade” took house the PRÁVO viewers award.

Within the Proxima competitors, South Korean filmmaker Yoo Ji-young received the highest $15,000 Grand Prix for “Start.” Indian director Saurav Rai received the $10,000 Particular Jury Prize for “Guras.” Czech director Albert Hospodářský’s “Brutal Warmth” gained a Particular Jury Point out. 

Academy Award-winning actor Russel Crowe acquired the Crystal Globe For Excellent Inventive Contribution To World Cinema, whereas Academy Award winner Alicia Vikander, Ewan McGregor, and Robin Wright have been honored with the Pageant President’s Award. Czech actress Daniela Kolářová accepted the Pageant President’s Award For Contribution To Czech Cinematography (cinematography stands as a synonym for the complete craft of cinema).

Source link

Related Articles

Latest Articles

Experience the future of communication with the Yealink T54W This cutting-edge IP phone boasts a 4.3-inch color display, built-in Bluetooth and Wi-Fi, and support for up to 16 VoIP accounts Kitchen cabinets escabinetry.com from European countries