Up to date:
Oct 10, 2019 17:52 IST

Stockholm [Sweden], Oct 10 (ANI): The 2019 Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded to Austrian creator Peter Handke, whereas the 2018 award, postponed from final yr, was given to Polish creator Olga Tokarczuk on Thursday.
The 2 winners have been named this yr as a result of the prize was not given final yr because the Swedish Academy that oversees the award had suspended it in 2018 following a sexual assault scandal.
“The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2018 is awarded to the Polish creator Olga Tokarczuk. The Nobel Prize in Literature for 2019 is awarded to the Austrian creator Peter Handke,” stated the official twitter feed of the Nobel Prize.
Austrian playwright and novelist Peter Handke, 76, will take house the award “for an influential work that with linguistic ingenuity has explored the periphery and the specificity of human expertise”.
Handke’s physique of labor contains, ‘A Sorrow Past Goals’, ‘Brief Letter, Lengthy Farewell’, and ‘The Goalie’s Nervousness on the Penalty Kick’.
Olga Tokarczuk, 57, gained the award “for a story creativeness that with encyclopedic ardour represents the crossing of boundaries as a type of life.”
She is the 15th girl to win the Nobel Literature Prize and had gained the Worldwide Booker Prize in 2018.
The Nobel Prize 2018 was postponed within the wake of a sexual and monetary scandal that engulfed the Swedish Academy.
Nobel Prize is a set of annual worldwide awards bestowed for excellent work in fields of physics, chemistry, physiology or drugs, literature, economics, and the promotion of peace.
Every successful author will obtain 9 million Swedish kronor (£740,000), in addition to a medal and a diploma at a proper ceremony in Sweden on December 10.
This yr’s Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded, with one half to James Peebles for his theoretical discoveries in bodily cosmology, and the opposite half collectively to Michel Mayor and Didier Queloz for locating an exoplanet orbiting a solar-type star.
The worldwide award in Physiology or Medication was collectively awarded to William G Kaelin Jr, Peter J Ratcliffe and Gregg L Semenza for his or her discoveries of how cells sense and adapt to oxygen availability.
The Nobel Prize in Chemistry was collectively awarded to John B Goodenough, M Stanley Whittingham, and Akira Yoshino on Wednesday “for the event of lithium-ion batteries.” (ANI)

Source link